no cover -  
Casiopea Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Casiopea/カシオペア is a Japanese jazz fusion band that was formed in 1976 by guitarist Issei Noro and bassist Tetsuo Sakurai. In 1977, keyboardist Minoru Mukaiya and drummer Takashi Sasaki joined the group. The group debuted with the album Casiopea in 1979, and 30 albums or more have since been released. In 1980, the drummer seat is replaced by 神保彰/Akira Jimbo.

The album Eyes of the Mind was released in the United States in 1981. They then released the album Mint Jams in 1982, followed by Four by Four in the same year, which is a collaborative album with some of Fourplay members including Lee Ritenour, Harvey Mason, Nathan East and Don Grusin. Their first foreign concert was held in the United Kingdom in 1983. The group has toured Europe, South America, Australia, and Southeast Asia.

In 1989, 神保彰/Akira Jimbo and Tetsuo Sakurai left the band following several years of musical differences. They named their own band, Jimsaku. For the replacement, the group chose Yoshihiro Naruse (bass) and Masaaki Hiyama (drums).

In 1993, the group once again change its members. Noriaki Kumagai came to replace Masaaki. Then from 1997 神保彰/Akira Jimbo returned to Casiopea, this time as a part-time member, recording more albums and again contributing some of the compositions.

In 2006, Issei Noro, the group's leader, decided to freeze all activities of the band until further notice.

On April 20, 2012, it was announced that Casiopea would return with Kiyomi Otaka on keyboards, replacing Minoru Mukaiya, who led his own music production team Mukaiya Club. This iteration is known as Casiopea 3rd.

During the 2010 decade Casiopea 3rd resumed album releases, and both Casiopea 3rd and Inspirits held a joint concert as a result of having a common bandleader in Issei Noro.

During the Covid-19 crisis, Issei Noro released a song thanking all those on the frontlines.

  • Info
  • 1976 – present (46 years)
  • Tokyo, Japan
  • 佐々木隆 (1977 – 1979)
    向谷実 (1977 – 2006)
    大高清美 (2012 – present)
    小池秀彦 (1976 – 1976)
    日山正明 (1990 – 1992)
    … 櫻井哲夫 (1976 – 1989)
    熊谷徳明 (1992 – 1996)
    神保彰 (1980 – 1989)
    野呂一生 (1976 – present)
    鈴木徹 (1976 – 1976)
    鳴瀬喜博 (1990 – present)

  • 0 people like this
  • @Casiopea/events

  • Social Links
  • Advertisement