no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

There are at least four known artists that share the name Obscura:

1) A technical death metal band from Germany.
2) A death-thrash metal band from Germany.
3) A death-thrash metal band from Ecuador.
4) A death metal band from Sweden.

1) German band Obscura was founded in 2002 by guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer. The band caused a stir when they - out of nowhere - toured as support for Suffocation on their European tour in 2006 and when they independently released their debut album "Retribution" that same year.

In late 2007 - after several line-up changes - the band announced a new drummer, Hannes Grossmann (ex-Necrophagist) and fretless bass player Jeroen Paul Thesseling (ex-Pestilence) as new permanent members. In early 2008 the new line-up was completed with the addition of Christian Muenzner (ex-Necrophagist) as permanent guitarist.

Obscura released its second full-length album, "Cosmogenesis" (feat. special guest appearances by Ron Jarzombek [Watchtower, Blotted Science] and Tymon Kruidenier [Cynic, Exivious]) in early 2009 via Relapse Records. The record was met with high appraisal and quickly set Obscura among the top modern death metal bands.

In 2011, the band released its third full-length album "Omnivium", which was another highly appraised record by the critics and fans alike. It features guest appearances by Tommy Talamanca from Sadist and Morean from Dark Fortress. Thematically, the album is based on Friedrich Schelling's book "On Nature's Connection to the Spirit World". This was also the last album Jeroen Paul Thesseling performed on, leaving the band in late 2011 and being replaced by Noneuclid bass player, Linus Klausenitzer.

Re(de)fining their approach, Obscura continue to create their vision of the future of - a symbiosis of death, thrash and merged with progressive elements and technical as well as compositional demand.

  • Advertisement