no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Various bands once known as Slayer.

1) Slayer was an American thrash metal band from Huntington Park, California.

2) S.A. Slayer, originally known as Slayer, was an American heavy metal band formed in San Antonio, Texas in 1981


1) - Slayer was an American metal band from Huntington Park, California, active from 1981-2019. Formed by guitarists Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman, drummer Dave Lombardo, and bassist/vocalist Tom Araya, Slayer's extremely fast and aggressive musical style made them one of the 1980s "Big Four" bands of the style, alongside Metallica, Megadeth, and Anthrax.

In the original lineup, King, Hanneman and Araya contributed to the band's lyrics, and all of the band's music was written by King and Hanneman. The band's lyrics and album art, which cover topics such as Satanism, death, religion, Nazism, and war, have generated album bans, delays, lawsuits and criticism from religious groups and factions of the general public. However, its music has been highly influential, often being cited by many bands as an influence musically and lyrically; the band's third album, Reign in Blood (1986), is widely regarded as one of the greatest in all of heavy metal music history.

Slayer released twelve studio albums, two live albums, two extended plays and a cover album. Four of the band's studio albums have received gold certification in the U.S. The band has received five Grammy Award nominations, winning one in 2007 for the song "Eyes of the Insane" and one in 2008 for the song "Final Six", both from the album Christ Illusion (2006). Slayer sold five million albums in the United States alone.

Show No Mercy (1983)
Hell Awaits (1985)
Reign in Blood (1986)
South of Heaven (1988)
Seasons in the Abyss (1990)
Divine Intervention (1994)
Undisputed Attitude (1996)
Diabolus in Musica (1998)
God Hates Us All (2001)
Christ Illusion (2006)
World Painted Blood (2009)
Repentless (2015)

2) - S.A. Slayer, originally known as Slayer, was an American heavy metal band formed in San Antonio, Texas in 1981 by the former Blitzkrieg (not to be confused with the UK band Blitzkrieg) guitar duo Robert "Bob Dog" Catlin and Art Villarreal, bassist Don Van Stavern, drummer Dave McClain, and vocalist Chris Cronk (Fates Warning, Jag Panzer, Karion, Talisphere, Target 7). The latter was soon replaced by Steve Cooper and the band signed a record deal with local upstart label Rainforest Records and proceeded to record six songs for a proposed EP at B.O.S.S. Studios with producer/engineer duo Bob O'Neill and Rick Shrieves. The Prepare to Die EP was released in 1983 and "Slayer" became one of the top metal draws of the Texas scene. The band changed their name to S.A. Slayer following a cease and desist lawsuit from founder of Metal Blade Records, Brian Slagel on behalf of thrash metal legends Slayer.

  • Advertisement