no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Subsignal was formed by Sieges Even's Markus Steffen (guitars, programming) and Arno Menses (vocals, keyboards), followed shortly after by Dreamscape's Ralf Schwager (bass). As of December 2008 the band is completed by drummer Roel van Helden (Sun Caged) and keyboardist David Bertok (also of Dreamscape). The full length debut Beautiful & Monstrous, was released in September 2009 via ZYX Music and Goldencore.

The album contains nine tracks plus one bonustrack (Rain is the Most Beautiful Color) in melodic progressive rock style in the vein of Sieges Even. However, Subsignal's music is clearly more calm and tranquil, more often expressing positive emotions instead of melancholic. The release was followed by a short tour as support for Jane and Saga, as well as several headlining shows in Germany, Italy and Austria.

Their second record, Touchstones, was released three years later, in September 2011. It contains 12 tracks, which feature heavier guitars and a somewhat darker sound compared to their debut while still upholding Subsignals signature sound. Furthermore, several guest musicians appear on the album, for example Isabel Flössel (guest vocals in The Lifespan Of A Glimpse) and a String Trio.

The band is currently on a headliner tour, promoting the release. Isabel Flössel also appears on tour as a temporary support for the band, providing background vocals. Since release of Touchstones, Subsignal play less songs originally by Sieges Even live and instead focus on their own material.

  • Info
  • 2007 – present (13 years)
  • Munich, Bayern, Germany
  • Arno Menses David Bertok (2008 – 2014)
    Markus Steffen Ralf Schwager (2008 – present)
    Roel van Helden (2008 – 2011)

  • 0 people like this
  • @Subsignal/events

  • Social Links
  • Advertisement