no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

The Devil Wears Prada is a band from Dayton, Ohio, formed in 2005. The band members include Mike Hranica (lead vocals, additional guitars), Jeremy DePoyster (rhythm guitar, vocals), Kyle Sipress (lead guitar, backing vocals), Jonathan Gering (keyboards, synthesizers, programming, backing vocals), Giuseppe Capolupo (drums), and Mason Nagy (bass). Former members include James Baney (keyboards, synthesizers, programming), Chris Rubey (lead guitar, backing vocals), Daniel Williams (drums), Andy Trick (bass), and Samuel Penner (lead guitar during touring).

The band chose their name based on an anti-materialistic mindset, deriving it from the novel of the same title. Initially assuming the novel conveyed anti-materialism, they later discovered it did not. Despite the misunderstanding, they kept the name, redefining it to represent a non-materialistic perspective and emphasizing that possessions won't matter at the Last Judgment. While they started as a Christian band, they have since moved away from that foundation and evolved their style. Guitarist Kyle Sipress stated in 2021 that they have not actively promoted themselves as a Christian band for a while. While most band members no longer identify as Christians, their focus remains on creating enjoyable music.

The band's journey began in 2005 when they played their first show with a fill-in bassist and just one guitarist. Soon after, Jeremy DePoyster joined as the rhythm guitarist, and bassist Andy Trick completed the lineup. They started playing local shows in Dayton and recorded their demo, titled "Patterns of a Horizon," later that year.

The band later signed with Rise Records and released their debut album, "Dear Love: A Beautiful Discord," in 2006. The album garnered attention and the band embarked on various tours.

They released their second album, "Plagues," on August 21, 2007. The singles "HTML Rulez D00d" and "Hey John, What's Your Name Again?" had music videos that aired on MTV and Fuse. "Plagues" surpassed the sales of their debut album, reaching No. 57 on the Billboard 200. The album was later re-released in 2008 with additional content. They recorded a cover of "Still Fly" for the compilation album "Punk Goes Crunk," citing Underoath and Still Remains as influences.

The band's third album, "With Roots Above and Branches Below," was released in 2009. It showcased a heavier and more epic sound while maintaining melodies. The album reached No. 11 on the Billboard 200. They continued to tour extensively, including participation in the Warped Tour and collaborations with bands like All That Remains and Killswitch Engage. In 2009, they were named Band of the Year by Alternative Press.

They released the EP "Zombie" on August 23, 2010 and followed it by going on their Back to the Roots Tour.

They released their fourth full-length studio album, "Dead Throne," on September 13, 2011, through Ferret Music. The album, described as their most emotional and well-written, peaked at No. 10 on the Billboard 200, selling over 32,000 copies in its first week. "Dead Throne" topped the Christian and Independent album charts and reached No. 3 on the Rock and Hard Rock album charts.

The band participated in the Mayhem Festival tour in 2012 and released a CD/DVD album titled "Dead and Alive" on June 26, 2012.

The band's fifth album, "8:18," was released in 2013. It featured a more melancholic sound and heavy contributions from guitarist Chris Rubey. They embarked on the Warped Tour and released the EP "Space" in 2015. The EP marked the addition of guitarist Kyle Sipress to the band.

On March 7, 2015, they re-signed with Rise Records. Shortly after, founding guitarist Chris Rubey departed and they announced their upcoming EP, "Space." They released a 7" vinyl titled "South of the City" on Record Store Day. They embarked on a tour to celebrate the five-year anniversary of "Zombie." The band introduced a new guitarist, Kyle Sipress, and released two songs from the "Space" EP, "Supernova" and "Alien." The EP was released on August 21, 2015. In 2016, drummer Daniel Williams left the band, and they released their album "Transit Blues" on October 7, 2016. They signed with Solid State Records in September 2018.

In 2019, The Devil Wears Prada welcomed Jonathan Gering and Giuseppe Capolupo as official members for their seventh studio album, "The Act," released in October 2019. They later saw the departure of bassist Andy Trick and the addition of Mason Nagy. The band released the EP "ZII" as a sequel to their previous EP "Zombie," featuring singles such as "Termination" and "Nightfall." Their eighth studio album, "Color Decay," was released in September 2022, featuring singles like "Time" and "Broken," with a deluxe edition released in May 2023.

  • Info
  • 2005 – present (18 years)
  • Dayton, Montgomery County, Ohio, United States
  • Andy Trick (2005 – 2019)
    Chris Rubey (2005 – 2015)
    Daniel Williams (2005 – 2016)
    Giuseppe Capolupo (2016 – present)
    James Baney (2005 – 2012)
    … Jeremy DePoyster (2005 – present)
    Jonathan Gering (2012 – present)
    Kyle Sipress (2015 – present)
    Mason Nagy (2018 – present)
    Mike Hranica (2005 – present)

  • 1 people like this
  • @The-Devil-Wears-Prada/events

  • Social Links
  • Advertisement