no cover -  
The Greenhornes Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

The Greenhornes is a rock band from Cincinnati, Ohio, United States, formed in 1996, and featuring Craig Fox on lead vocals and guitar, Jack Lawrence on bass, and Patrick Keeler on drums. The band has released several full-length albums and singles. Their most recent release is 2010's "****" ("Four Stars"), the first recorded by the band since their pursuit of other musical projects, such as The Raconteurs and The Dead Weather. The band's collaboration with Holly Golightly, "There Is an End", featured on compilation album "Sewed Souls" was the theme song of Jim Jarmusch's 2005 film, Broken Flowers.

Lawrence and Keeler, along with Detroit musician and producer Dave Feeny, were in the Do-Whaters, the band formed and led by Jack White of Detroit band The White Stripes for Loretta Lynn's 2004 album Van Lear Rose. Lawrence and Keeler are now at work in The Raconteurs with Benson and White. Lawrence is also the banjo and autoharp player for another Detroit band, Blanche, which also includes the aforementioned Feeny.

The band is also responsible for composing the soundtrack to a skateboard movie entitled "Mosaic" and released in 2003 by Habitat skateboards.

The band's latest album, entitled "****", was released on October 26, 2010, and was released on Jack White's Third Man Records imprint. The Greenhornes toured America, Europe, and much of Australia and New Zealand in support of the album, through 2010 and 2011. As of 2012, they have reformed, and have begun touring, however no news has emerged on whether the band will enter the studio to record another album, yet.

  • Advertisement