no cover -  
The Jesus Lizard Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

The Jesus Lizard is an American band formed in 1987 in Austin, Texas, United States. They are "a leading band in the American independent underground…(who) turned out a series of independent records filled with scathing, disembowelling, guitar-driven pseudo-industrial noise, all of which received positive reviews in underground music publications and heavy college-radio play."

After a brief run as a recording-only project based in Austin, founding vocalist David Yow, bassist David Wm. Sims and guitarist Duane Denison relocated to Chicago, Illinois in 1989, finding kindred spirits in recording engineer Steve Albini and the Touch and Go Records imprint. With the addition of drummer Mac McNeilly, they began operating as a live band, expanding their following beyond Chicago's alternative scene into an international audience. Drummer Jim Kimball replaced McNeilly late in 1996, and was himself replaced by Brendan Murphy two years later.

Despite releasing a split single with leading alt-rockers Nirvana and signing to Capitol Records, the band failed to find commercial success amid the explosion of the 1990s, and disbanded in 1999. Their reunion from 2008 to 2010 and following tour enjoyed positive responses from audiences and critics.

In October 2013, The Jesus Lizard were set to play at the All Tomorrow's Parties event Release the Bats in Melbourne, Australia. They cancelled this show due to "unforeseen circumstances."


David Yow - vocals;
Duane Denison - guitars;
David Wm. Sims - bass;
Mac McNeilly - drums.

Former members:

Jim Kimball - drums;
Brendan Murphy - drums.

  • Info
  • 1987 – 1999 (12 years)
  • Austin, Travis County, Texas, United States
  • David Sims David Yow Duane Denison Mac McNeilly

  • 0 people like this
  • @The-Jesus-Lizard/events
  • Advertisement