no cover -  
The Lovin' Spoonful Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

The Lovin' Spoonful is a / band that was formed in New York City, New York, United States in 1965. The band consisted of John Sebastian (vocals, autoharp), Zal Yanovsky (guitar), Steve Boone (bass) and Joseph Campbell Butler (drums). Yanovsky left the group in 1967 and was replaced by Jerry Yester, and Sebastian left the group in 1968. The band issued five albums and two film soundtracks before they split in 1969. They were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2002.

Their best known songs include "Summer In The City", "Do You Believe In Magic?", "Darling Be Home Soon", and "Daydream". The band reunited in 1991 and continue to perform without Sebastian, who has declined to participate, and Yanovsky, who died in 2002.

The band's name was inspired by lyrics from Mississippi John Hurt's "Coffee Blues" and drew influence from contemporary and music while also inspiring later bands.

A more complete history of this seminal New York band can be found on their official site:

  • Advertisement