no cover -  
The Naked and Famous Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

The Naked and Famous is a two piece band hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, now based out of Los Angeles, California. The band comprises Thom Powers, Alisa Xayalith, Aaron Short, David Beadle and Jesse Wood, with Powers and Xayalith being the two current active members. According to the Young Blood Songfacts, they took the name from a line in UK trip hop singer-songwriter Tricky's track, Tricky Kid.

After their initial formation in 2008, their debut album "Passive Me, Aggressive You" was released on the "Somewhat Damaged" label during September 2010. The single "Young Blood" debuted at number one on the New Zealand chart - the first New Zealand artist to do so in three years. On 6 December 2010, the BBC announced that The Naked and Famous had been nominated for the BBC's Sound of 2011 poll.

Their second album, 2013's In Rolling Waves, reached the top 5 on the New Zealand Albums chart, and top 15 on the Australian Albums and US Billboard Top Alternative Albums charts. Their following album, Simple Forms, was Xayalith and Powers' first release as a two-piece. Their fourth album, Recover, was released in 2020, and peaked at 19 on RMNZ's New Zealand Artist Albums chart.

  • Advertisement